Felted / Hats / Knitting

Oh the joy…of hand felting!

Felted Hat

I’m felting…I got motivated when I organized my wool stash a few weeks ago.  As you know, there’s no wool in charity knitting so what’s a woman to do? Spent several hours looking for the perfect pattern and fell in love with Margaret Santino’s  Purple Delight Felted Hat design.  You can get the pattern on Ravelry.  The seed stitch infused  texture which gave the hat definition around the brim and crown. Instructions are clear and easy to follow.

I only did one wash in a top loading washer and completed the felting process using the hand wash bucket method.  I liked monitoring the shrinkage and watching the density develop. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4KTNIjc8wY).  It took about 30 minutes.

Ok, I liked the outcome so much that I modeled the finish product…a first for me.  What do you think?  I have a special  someone in mind who will be getting  a felted hat in the very near future because Magloves2knit…

6 thoughts on “Oh the joy…of hand felting!

  1. I love it. I have a few skeins of wool that needs to be used but I have to use it carefully. Certain wools make me itch and break out. Glad to see you smiling.

  2. Now that looks very stylish and you are “Wearing that Hat”. You did a great job. Fits you perfectly.

  3. Love it, you should model your projects more often. I also decided to take an inventory of my yarn, which I was surprised at what I have. I’m trying hard not to buy more, however, Hobby Lobby will be opening soon, so I’m not sure how successful I will be.

  4. You go girl what an absolutely stylish effect. Of course I will be accepting your gift as graciously as possible even though my birthday isn’t until August :). And if not you know I got some wool so be on the look out, love ya bye

Leave a Reply

